Posted in blankets, crochet

Conquering demons

Hey, so I have recently managed to conquer a particular personal demon: the baby blanket.  Sure, other crocheters churn these out like nothing and like doing it.  Me? I have a notoriously short attention span and when something bores or frustrates me too much I tend to toss it away like a two year-old that needs a nap.  This blanket is for a dear friend of mine’s first baby, so I was greatly invested in completing it.  Which is good because I’ve had other failed baby blanket making attempts for people less close to me.

Pros: it was super simple in design, just a square that kept getting larger in a cute and attractive, but easy pattern.  I successfully watched subtitled anime while crocheting this and didn’t fuck it up beyond recognition.  I just had to keep an eye out for the occasionally split stitch.

Cons: If there wasn’t something else keeping my attention I was bored out of my skull.  It also started to get shockingly heavy and unwieldy at the end.

hours of my life
A baby blanket for a good friend

I’m really pleased with how it turned out and the picot edging looks really nice to me.  I’m inexplicably happy that I got to end on yellow.  Of the three colors I used, I just think the yellow makes the best edging.  Also, I’m basically having to relearn crochet right now because I got acrylic nails and they are messing with me something fierce.

I also have some Pittsburgh Penguins I’m finishing up for my sister (they were supposed to be for Christmas, but I’m chronically late with that stuff).  Those I intend to finish by this weekend as well.

Oh, I’m also going to be teaching a crochet class.  If you’d like to hear more abut it visit my other blog here.

2 thoughts on “Conquering demons

Leave a Reply

