Posted in blankets, crochet

Yarn, new crochet skills, TETRIS!

So this week hasn’t been as productive as I would like it to have been (when is this not the case?), or rather not obviously productive.  I did learn how to broomstick lace crochet (really cool, but tricky at first) and I really have this video to thank.  I needed to learn so I could crochet my sister an infinity scarf.  I’m using this pattern, but I’ll actually twist it to make it a true Mobius.   The yarn I’m using is absolutely gorgeous.  I was originally going to use a spare PVC pipe I had laying around, but I thought the loops looked too big and awkward so I’ve down-sized to a more moderate wooden dowel.  I just need to sand it a bit to make sure it doesn’t snag on the yarn (I had a picture of the dowel, but wordpress has decided it doesn’t like it.  I’ll take another pic when the scarf is in progress).

Aptly named, wouldn't you say?
Aptly named, wouldn’t you say?

Luckily I’m not the one who bought it, because it’s predictably a pretty penny.  My sister bought it on the condition that I’d make the scarf for her.  I’m really looking forward to working with this yarn, it’s so lovely.  I’ve also made some headway on my new tetris squares, look at them all!

Tetris squares everywhere!

I’ve also got blue, but I need to hunt up some cyan and magenta.  I originally thought I could use my lavender Red Heart, but I don’t think the color’s bright enough.  Oh and if case you were wondering about that pile of unraveled squares.  Yeah, I straightened them all out and reattached the yarn pieces together so I could wind them all back into balls.  It was time consuming.

Since I’ll be visiting my family over Labor Day I don’t know how much I’m going to get done, but I figure I’ll bring tetris square stuff and also my Art Assignment work.  Hopefully I’ll have something more substantial by the end of the weekend.

Leave a Reply

