Posted in amigurumi, crochet, design

Monsters and Bad Ideas

A friend of mine is pregnant with her second kid and I, of course, promised to make something for the new arrival.  The first baby was a baby blanket.  My first blanket ever, actually.  When I asked what she would like this time around, my friend asked for a hat.  Turns out the theme is monsters for the second kid.  A little monster hat is easy enough, heck you could just add an eyeball and call it a day, but I didn’t want to do that.  I wanted to make something a little more personalized.

So thinking about it I decided to go with an Oni motif.  I’m a huge fan of mythology and Japanese mythology in particular.  An oni is a Japanese spirit, they usually Earth spirits found on mountains and are large an imposing.  The best European equivalent in both looks and attitude is probably a troll.  They’re large red or blue monsters that are often depicted in either tiger stripped or leopard spotted loincloth like skirting and often carry large iron, spiked clubs.  They are also horned.  Traditional portrayals of them are predictably fearsome, but they’re also very popular in cute pop-art in Japan.  I’m obviously running with the cuter depictions.

I’ve already finished the hat, I’m just working on the embellishments, but the horns have been surprisingly hard to pin down.  I’ve made and ripped them back no less than five times. >.>  I think I might actually be satisfied with this incarnation, as little of it done as it is.


I also get a lot of personal inspiration from Megan Murphy, especially her Kawaii Not work, but honestly…. some of the ideas are Bad Ideas.  And unfortunately I made a Bad Idea today.


XD  I rather like how it turned out!  I made it on a whim today so I wasn’t writing down what I was doing while I made it, but it wasn’t terribly hard and I’m sure I can figure it out so I can post a pattern of it soon.  I’ve also gotten more tetris squares done, but as always I haven’t taken any new pictures of them.  I’ll try to get all of the finished squares together for a picture for next time.

I think this coming week I’m going to get started on some long overdue crochet projects I’ve promised several people.  We’ll see who’s I actually complete in a timely fashion. XD

Leave a Reply

