Posted in crochet, spinning, yarn

What Am I Doing?

Excuses waste time and I’ve wasted enough so let’s get down to brass tacks.  What am I doing?

I’ve finished full single ply from an entire batch of fiber.

72314d9d-a0cf-486f-ae84-514324bf2edb

It’s made from the cotton candy colored mystery fiber I picked up at Upcycle Trading Company, sadly now closed.  I really enjoyed spinning it up though it took me a while and I’m looking forward to plying it.  Because it’s all a continuous single ply I’ll be plying it back on itself, which will be an adventure because I’ve never done that before.  >.>  I have done a little plying, but it was on a wheel and with very different yarn.  I’m thinking I might actually film myself plying for the first time on a drop spindle for laughs because I’m sure there will be plenty of that as well as cursing.
I also completed a headband, basically the sister to the one I made my sister.  Yes that one from forever ago.  I misplaced the yarn for a while, then I moved (remember when I bitched about it endlessly?) so it was really misplaced, not that they were large balls to begin with.  Anyhoo I found the yarn again, the lovely cria, $10 per 90 yd skeins and finally made my own headband.

I rather like the way it turned out using the Harlequin Check pattern.

If you’ve followed my other blog you’d know about my love for You Are Umasou and Umasou specifically.  I’ve been working on a crochet pattern for him (unique shaping challenges there) that I think is coming along nicely. As it progresses I plan to post updates to twitter and tumblr (BTW, I know my tumblr theme is a hot mess, I’ll sort it out soon).  Anyone who follows me on tumblr probably knows it’s been pretty scarce on the DIY/crafty and geeky side lately and I’m going to work on fixing that.

In other news I’m going to be casting on my first pair of socks this month.  I know basic casting on and how to knit and purl a stitch so I figure I might as well jump into the deep end!  You’ll definitely see video of that attempt as well.

 

 

Leave a Reply

