Posted in amigurumi, crochet, yarn bombing

Yarn Bombing

(Please note: the yarn bomb pictured is not mine, but it was too nice not to share. Awesome job Knits for Life!)

It’s been a while since I’ve yarn bombed anything, my Ravelry group is very dead, as is the FB group I made for it. The idea of yarn bombing still makes me really happy and I really do want to do more with it, but it’s becoming increasingly obvious to me that little yarn bombs aren’t really my thing. I’ve done small projects like fortune cookies (with fortunes!), gnomes, crochet bombs, etc. While fun they’re very time consuming, even the tiny projects (sometimes it’s especially the tiny projects) and they just aren’t that fulfilling. What makes my heart sing are larger elaborate projects. Projects with lots of elements that take perhaps months of work to complete like my 1,000(+2) Butterflies project from years back!

There something special about small, individual yarn bombs, it’s like a touch of magic in the world to find a crochet flower peeking out among real in a garden or a gnome waiting to be taken home on a shelf. It’s like a special little gift and I’m sure it makes people smile. I want to do that too, but people so rarely share those kinds of things and maybe it’s a little self-important, but I really want to see or hear about people’s reactions to finding them, which is where more ambitious projects come up.

I have several ideas for large scale projects, some bigger than others. The cost associated with them is definitely a consideration (especially as I move away from super cheap but ecologically disastrous materials), but it’s something I’d really like to see through. For example I’d really like to crochet the ENTIRE “Over in the Meadow” song (which is 65 animals for those unfamiliar with it) and set them up in a park. I’d be even more overjoyed if people liked the animals and took them home while it was being displayed. I’ve also considered what it would take to make a life-sized Totoro (hint: a terrifying amount of yarn and stuffing).

Yarn bombing is something I’m passionate about enough that I’ve actually made it a goal for this year to do more yarn bombing in general, but more specifically I want to do a large scale project installation. I already know the project will be and it will use some designs of my own making as well as some designs from other crotchers. I’ll be sure to link to all appropriate people once the project is completed!

Here’s to 2017 being a year of fanciful whimsy and expecting the unexpected!

One thought on “Yarn Bombing

Leave a Reply

