Posted in crochet, design, review

Graphgan…Save me from “clever” names

If you know me, you know I love puns. I live for them, I enjoy them being used, I enjoy using them…most of the time. I can’t pinpoint exactly what I despise about this naming pun so much, but I do, I really really do. I don’t find it funny or clever, just painful and I can’t stand using it so I won’t actually refer to my work with this technique by that moniker, I will refer to it a C2C or corner to corner crochet as it’s also known.

So my library had a program recently, I want to keep some anonymity online so I’m not going to specify the name of the program just that it was all about Nintendo. It was a lot of fun and one of my brain children was arranging for a Fan Art gallery, anything Nintendo was welcome. I wanted to contribute, but the only creative thing I can do is crochet so I decided to go with a pixel blanket, well more of a wall hanging really. I only had about 10 days to pick out a project and finish it so I needed to keep it small. I was familiar with granny square and Tunisian crochet pixel blankets, but I didn’t think I’d have time to do something that large. Luckily the C2C popped up right at the start of my search!

I’m sure it’s been around, but I hadn’t seen that particular technique and I thought it looked pretty interesting and perfect for 8-bit designs. But I wasn’t satisfied with any of the designs that I came across (none of them were sprites, can you believe it?) so I figured I’d just design my own. It was easy actually, just adjust the height and width in an Excel spreadsheet to squares and color them to create the chart. Once I printed it up, I looked up a basic tutorial and was on my way.

 

Overall I really like this technique and I highly recommend it, even if it’s just to have done it once. You don’t have to learn any special stitches, it’s just clever bunches of double crochets (I want to try doing it with hdc) arranged in a stair pattern that’s worked back and forth on the diagonal. In general the rows work up fairly quickly and I imagine a blanket done up in this style would be a fast project.

It’s highly customizable, creating a new pattern using excel or a similar program is a breeze. Because of the way the pattern works up it’s easy to miscount or accidentally skip a color change so I would recommend printing out the pattern you’re using and numbering out the rows, even if it’s multiple pages. If you’re like me and you only had black and white printing available, it helps to color code the squares because one gray can look very much like another, but keep a second printout handy to mark up your rows while you make it.

2 thoughts on “Graphgan…Save me from “clever” names

Leave a Reply

